Mind takes over

2016 – The year of highs and semi-lows

This was the year of firsts and new meetings. This was the year of much learning and forgetting as well. This was 2016.

The year began with an unexpected surprise in becoming part of the U Mumba staff as the social media person. I was able to fulfill a bucket list dream of mine of working as part of the support staff of a sports team. I also became friends with some amazing people and went all over the country, seeing how one sport has changed so many lives in such a short span of time. This was just another amazing experience chalked up to one for the memoirs.

As the year progressed, I became more unsure about what I wanted to do in my life even though I thought I had a plan when it came to my career. My job as a sports PR agent was enriching and full of teaching moments but I didn’t see myself doing this as a proper career. Despite the people I met and the stories I was able to be a part of, I was still lost and floundering as I worked. Seeing many of my friends and peers so focused and clear in their minds made me wonder whether I was in the right industry or even in the right head space.

May was a month full of awesomeness as my nephew was born and I realized what it meant to love someone as though your heart was bursting. Everything about this cute bundle of human just made me feel so happy and wonderful.

Then came the moment that I believe turned this year and probably my life around. I decided to take a break from working for a while until I managed to figure out what I wanted to do with my life and in which direction I wanted to take my life. I quit my job at the sports PR agency and finished a one month internship at The Ladies Finger that allowed me to grow as a writer. I saw my name as a byline and was instantly smitten.

At this time, I had plans to go abroad and study sports management but upon reevaluation and introspection, I realized that the only thing that made me happy earning money was writing. One thing led to another and I close out 2016 working as an intern at Wisden India and possibly the happiest I’ve been the entire year (aside from my nephew being born, of course!)

For everything that’s happened in the world, all the deaths, the traumas, the casualties of war and strife, the injustices and unfairness, the utter bullshit and nonsense that people have said and believed, sometimes in getting down about everything that was happening to everyone else, I didn’t realize that 2016 has actually been a big year for me. Therefore, keeping in mind how much people are suffering all over the world and how humankind still has a LOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNGG way to go in terms of equality and justice for all its people, I’m truly thankful for this year that I’ve had!

Before the clock strikes 12 and you wish everyone a Happy New Year, take a moment to just reflect on the good things that have happened to you. It will make for a better start to 2017, that’s for sure!

If you’re reading this before 11:59.59pm on 31st December, 2016, have a Happy New Year!

If you’re reading this after 11:59.59pm on 31st December, 2016, hope you had a Happy New Year!

See you all in 2017 – for more writing and musings from me!

Leave a Reply

